BJP announces first list of candidates



Stating that it will win the forthcoming zilla panchayat
elections in Goa with a thumping majority, the Bharatiya Janata Party on
Thursday announced some of its candidates for these polls scheduled to take
place in 50 constituencies on March 22.

Following the meeting of the state election committee of
BJP attended by Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, state BJP president Sadanand
Tanawde announced the list of 18 candidates of his party for the forthcoming ZP
polls, introducing 12 new faces in the first line-up.

The list included 14 candidates for North Goan
constituencies, and four candidates in the South Goan constituencies. Out of
these 18 candidates, six are sitting ZP members.

Addressing a press conference, Tanawde said the rest of
the candidates of his party will be announced by February 29. He also said the
BJP will support some Independent candidates for this poll.

The state BJP
president said that the mandals of the party had been asked to recommend the
respective candidates to the state BJP election committee, and the winnable
candidates were selected by the committee.

The 18 selected candidates in North Goa include Harmal – Anant Gadekar;
Morjim – Dhananjay Shetgaonkar; Dhargal – Manohar Dhargalkar; Torse – Seema Rama
Khadpe; Siolim – Sanisha Toraskar; Aldona – Manisha Naik; Anjuna – Niharika
Mandrekar; Calangute – Dattaprasad Dabholkar;
Karapur-Sarvan – Mahesh Anant Sawant; Mayem – Shankar Chodankar;
Pale – Gopal Surlkar; Honda – Sagun Wadkar; Keri – Devyani Gawas and Nagargao –
Rajeshri Kale.

Those announced for South Goan ZP constituencies are
Usgao-Ganje – Umakant Gaude; Davorlim – Ulhas Tuyekar; Barce – Khushali Velip,
and Khola – Shanu Velip.

Tanawde said the
Congress party is confused on contesting these elections, and hence making
allegations as regards the reservation of constituencies and the unavailability
of electoral roll.

The state BJP president also brushed aside the objection
taken by some of the BJP members, including party MLA Clafasio Dias, over
reservation of some constituencies.

“It is the state election commission, who reserves the
constituencies and not the BJP,” he remarked.
The post BJP announces first list of candidates appeared first on The Navhind Times.

Source:: The Navhind Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *